Why I Stopped Following My Dream

Placeholder ImageSince the first grade I always wanted to be a veterinarian. My senior year I told my mom that I didn’t want to be one anymore. Here I am at 21 wondering why I stopped trying. Why didn’t I apply to my dream school and get into their vet school? Yesterday I asked my mom that question. She told me “Don’t you remember telling your uncle what school you wanted to go to?” I sat there with a blank stare not having the slightest clue of what she was talking about. We sat there staring at each other until I finally shook my head no. She said “He told you your GPA wasn’t high enough.” As soon as she said that it was almost as if I had a flashback of the conversation. I remember crying that night when I got home because I felt stupid. Being that I was the person that I was back then I threw the whole notion out of ever becoming one. It completely discouraged me. I sat on the couch upset because I knew the person I am now wouldn’t have cared about his two cents about my future. I would’ve done it regardless and the day that I would’ve graduated from my dream school he would’ve been the first to get an invitation with my face plastered all over it with the words: I came and I conquered – graduate of 2018. He would’ve also gotten another invitation to my second graduation which would be me graduating from vet school with the words: Don’t let anyone say you can’t – graduate of 2022. Now I’m on a different path and interested in perioperative nursing. I’m actually in school to be a surgical technologists and in the process of taking prerequisites for the program. I’ve interviewed a few people and all that I’ve talked to have said that they loved it and would go back to it if they could. I think I’ve made the right choice but I’m still young and if I want to go back to my day one dream job then I will.

One thought on “Why I Stopped Following My Dream

  1. Nicely written. I’m a firm believer in not letting self (or other) imposed limitations get in the way of living the life you want to live, be it career or otherwise. All the best.

    Like

Leave a comment